Robert Downey Jr: “Fuck D.C. Comics”

August 14, 2008 at 3:48 am 4 comments

Do you remember a time when the only people that cared about the never-ending battle of comic book supremacy between Marvel and D.C. were portly virgins in under-sized “Star Trek” t-shirts, spouting most of their arguments during the fourth hour of a highly competitive Dungeons and Dragons game or on an online forum from the basement of his parents house?

Yeah, those were better times.

But this might be funnier. At least it’s a little bit less sad. Robert Downey Jr., star of Marvel’s biggest summer 2008 blockbuster “Iron Man” recently thrashed not only D.C. comics, but also the arguably biggest comic book movie ever made, “The Dark Knight.” Maybe it’s jealousy because the Gotham’s Caped Crusader completely stole the spotlight from “Iron Man,” which, back in May, set the bar pretty high for this summer’s comic book movies. Maybe he’s just trying to stir up some talk about “Iron Man,” because it’s never too soon to get the hype started about the sequel. Or maybe he really just didn’t understand it (Via Moviehole):

“My whole thing is that that I saw ‘The Dark Knight’. I feel like I’m dumb because I feel like I don’t get how many things that are so smart. It’s like a Ferrari engine of storytelling and script writing and I’m like, ‘That’s not my idea of what I want to see in a movie.’ I loved ‘The Prestige’ but didn’t understand ‘The Dark Knight’. Didn’t get it, still can’t tell you what happened in the movie, what happened to the character and in the end they need him to be a bad guy. I’m like, ‘I get it. This is so high brow and so fucking smart, I clearly need a college education to understand this movie.’ You know what? Fuck DC comics. That’s all I have to say and that’s where I’m really coming from.”

So, you’re telling me Downey Jr. is out of consideration for any D.C. upcoming gigs?

I would love for this to start a everyone-takes-sides Hollywood comic-off, where all of the industry’s big shots put in their two cents. I think it would be hilarious and equally idiotic if Christian Bale fires back, Edward Norton throws down some ugly words, Tobey Maguire gets really nasty — is it just me or would it be, like, the greatest thing ever if all these guys really, really took Downey Jr.’s words personally?

Fingers crossed.

Entry filed under: Batman, comic book movies, The Dark Knight. Tags: , , , , , , .

New Religulous clip Watchmen update: Rorschach unmasked!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. haha  |  August 14, 2008 at 11:07 am

    you’re a portly virgin in an undersized star trek t-shirt.

    Reply
  • 2. Robert Downey Jr.  |  August 14, 2008 at 11:11 am

    All the drugs are obviously affecting my brain.

    Reply
  • 3. movie buff  |  August 26, 2008 at 3:36 am

    it’s funny that Robert Downey Jr. said the Dark Knight is too sophisticated when he himself tends to sound so sophisticated

    Reply
  • 4. Thinking Voter  |  October 2, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Obama won’t stop the war. He will invade Iraq or Pakistan,, possibly both. The Markets are going to tank….

    But don’t worry Gay people will be able to get married, adopt children, and have their vaules praised in public schools.

    Thats what really matters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

