Cowabunga! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles returning to live-action?

July 16, 2008 at 6:06 pm 1 comment

For all of you Movie Chutzpah fans and enthusiasts out there, you’ll remember that in my Top Six comic book movies column, I listed the original “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” live-action flick as my second favorite comic book adaptation ever. I had this to say about it:

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles? check. Splinter? check. Shredder? check. The Foot Clan? check. A surprisingly interesting and intense script? check. Jim Henson? check — and he totally outdid himself on this one. Muppets can only take you so far in life; the puppets that he can up with for this movie are so incredible. I’ve never seen anything like them before. I hadn’t seen this movie in a long time, and even though I felt like a giant nerd, I was really engaged when I watched it again recently. I’d forgotten how good this actually was.

So excuse me for being a little excited about the hopeful return to live-action cinema for the four most bitchin’, ass-kickin’ turtles in history.

I’m sorry to say that I have yet to see the newest flick about the crime-fight quartet, but reviews of the cgi animated “TMNT” were good enough. I seem to remember a faint rumor about a possible harder sequel, a PG-13 or R-rated movie that would more accurately depict the original theme and idea of the comic books, but I haven’t heard anything like that in a long time. Instead, slashfilm caught wind of the turtles’ return to puppeteering glory, with this little snippet of information:

“Following the success of the ‘TMNT’ theatrical release in 2007, Mirage licensing and Imagi studios have begun work on a new live-action TMNT film for 2010. It’s the turtles like you’ve never seen them before! Shellalicious!”

All I really know what to say about this is… Freakin’ Awesome.

Does it make me a dork that I like the original “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” so much? Probably. But I dare you to go back to that scene where Raphael screams and rages on the rooftop and not get completely caught up in the movie. Seriously. It’s really good.

The guys at slashfilm totally had to kill the excitement buzz I had going, though. Way to go, party poopers:

Imagi is a computer animation studio, which makes me wonder if the live-action aspect is a typo or maybe that the turtles will be cg in a live action world.

LAME — although I wouldn’t have thought of this myself, and I’m upset at the possibility of a Turtles live-action that used cg for the actual turtles, I’m glad they raised this point, so as to, if nothing else, keep my hopes from getting too high for a live-action Turtles movie and then getting another cgi, partial or otherwise, one instead. CGI is just used too much nowadays.

I think people would be interested in seeing what Jim Henson’s company could do with the task of coming up with another set of puppets for a new Turtles movie. In a world where computer generated imagery is becoming largely the norm, especially for projects like this, a puppeteered movie would be welcomed as a fresh change of pace.

Discuss: would you be more interested in another “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” movie if it was live-action?

Entry filed under: comic book movies, sequel. Tags: , , , .

Arrested Development stars are serious about making a movie Coolest Nintendo Gamecube ever

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. xuxppxxuxyyy  |  December 27, 2008 at 8:55 am

    hello it is test. WinRAR provides the full RAR and ZIP file support, can decompress CAB, GZIP, ACE and other archive formats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



