Worst news ever

July 16, 2008 at 2:51 am 2 comments

I may be overreacting.

Maybe.

On a visit home last year, I sat down in the living room, where my sister was watching television, thus I was unintentionally subjected to the worst ten minutes of my life: blaring at nearly full volume was the teeny bopper hit of our generation, “High School Musical.” I don’t know which one, nor do I care. All I know is that what I saw on the TV screen that day should be considered an abomination unto whatever Lord you choose to worship — kitschy, unfunny, unoriginal bullcrap.

Well, my friends, now it gets worse. See, Disney never thought that “High School Musical” would reach the frenzied level of fandom that it has achieved. The first one was popular, the second one was even more so. What’s the next step? Oh yeah, sending the sequel to a made-for-TV tween movie straight to the silver screen: “High School Musical 3: Senior Year.” Is there really any hope that this won’t be just like “Bratz The Movie” or some equally terrible but ultimately extremely marketable movie — and by that, I’m assuming that Disney didn’t have making a good movie in mind when they greenlit this project, but instead the t-shirts, soundtracks barbie dolls and whatever else these kids’ images will be plastered on during the marketing of HSM3.

But don’t let me rag on the film for you. Watch the trailer and see for yourself just how bad it looks:

I’ll admit there was one part I found entertaining: When the basketball game shuts down completely in order for Zac Efron to sing to whatever the girl’s name is. It made me rofl all over the place, a reaction I’m almost positive wasn’t quite what the creative geniuses behind it had in mind.

Entry filed under: sequel. Tags: , , , .

Just how big will The Dark Knight’s opening weekend box office be? Inglorious Bastards cast starting to take shape?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley Tisdale  |  July 16, 2008 at 8:53 am

    That was an unjustifiably mean blog post. Our movie will touch the hearts of millions and provides good, clean, family fun. It’s better than all that PG garbage that’s out in Hollywood right now. All we want to do is spread love and happiness around the world while singing about high school topics.

    Reply
  • 2. High School Musical 3  |  August 4, 2008 at 2:24 am

    I think that you should watch a movie solely for entertainment not to consider whether watching it would change your life forever or save mankind… take it easy. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



