Hellboy 3 on the way?

July 17, 2008 at 3:51 am 4 comments

I just saw “Hellboy 2” tonight for the first time. I wasn’t planning on seeing this one; I had planned on setting a comic book movie quota for myself this summer, but plans change, and I wound up going to the late show.

And I’m glad I did. Guillermo del Toro reaffirmed his spot on top of the monster movie genre. If he keeps growing and taking visual risks as a director, he could end up as one of the greatest directors of all time. I just hope that, with the success of the “Hellboy” franchise and his eventual helming of the “Hobbit” franchise, he doesn’t forget his routes. I absolutely loves “Pan’s Labyrinth,” and it would be a shame for him to solely focus on these big-budget Hollywood films.

I’m not going to post a review about “Hellboy 2,” though, because I kind of missed the ball on that one. Suffice to say, it was a good popcorn movie with some amazingly stunning visuals. The monsters (especially the live-action puppet ones) are among the best in cinema history. It’s definitely worth seeing.

Anyways, onto the real news. Like any good movie blogger, I immediately came home and looked up the film I had just seen, and much to my surprise, there was talk not about del Toro’s “Hobbit” reboots or the rmored “Frankenstein” picture — it’s on “Hellboy 3,” the tentative end (at least according to imagined del Toro’s story arc) and inevitable summer Blockbuster after seeing how well the second one did at the box office. This Ron Perlman quote is from IGN:

I know Guillermo has a very compelling idea for how to end the trilogy and I hope he gets the chance to tell it and I hope he gets the chance to do it exactly as he wants to do it, and that’s all I can say about that. I don’t know. I’m not privy to anything, because we didn’t want to start counting our chickens before they hatched. So none of those discussions have ever been had. We just talk about what we’re gonna eat together and have dinner and stuff like that.

The article also said the project is most likely years away (if it’s coming) because of del Toro’s involvement with the “Hobbit,” but I think if del Toro has what he thinks is a fitting end to the series, I think the studio execs owe it to him to finish it out. After how much he ramped up the Monster Making for the sequel, I can’t even imagine what he’d put together for the third one — he’ll pull out all the stops, I’m sure.

This was a franchise I had my heart set on not getting into. The first time I saw a trailer for the first one, I thought it looked ridiculous and tacky, but lo and behold, here I am getting excited about a third “Hellboy” that could be three, four years away. Del Toro’s done a great job putting these together, and I’m all for seeing him do another.

Entry filed under: comic book movies, Guillermo Del Toro, sequel. Tags: , , , .

The Dark Knight spikes Batman DVD sales Kung Fu Panda getting sued by Chinese artist

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tom Stanley  |  July 17, 2008 at 4:56 am

    I was on Yahoo and found your blog. Read a few of your other posts. Good work. I am looking forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Tom Stanley

    Reply
  • 2. andy  |  July 17, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Thanks Tom. It’s always cool to hear someone’s reading, haha

    Reply
  • 3. victoria  |  July 17, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    hi andy!
    read your article on Hellboy & wanted to share some BATMAN info & an opportunity for a free movie ticket with you. My name’s Victoria and I’m contacting you to fill you in on the latest BATMAN: THE DARK KNIGHT exclusive clips and official online game. Although it’s short notice, I wanted to share the exclusive content with you to share with your readers on your site before the film comes out in theaters tomorrow.
    Check out http://www.comcast.net/thedarkknightmovie/#/videos/exclusives for 6 exclusive videos that you won’t find anywhere else, as well as an exclusive videogame: http://www.comcast.net/thedarkknightmovie/game/ . If you’re interested in posting these on your site, I’d like to send you a free movie ticket so you or a friend can go see BATMAN: THE DARK KNIGHT. If you’re interested, please get back to me as soon as possible and if you decide to write a news post about the clips or game please include a link to your write-up. Please let me know if you have any questions.
    Thanks for reading,
    Victoria

    Reply
  • 4. fullbodytransplant  |  April 8, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Hottest. Liz Sherman. Ever.

    Enjoy: http://fullbodytransplant.wordpress.com/2009/04/07/vs-system-original-art-liz-sherman/

    (Might need a fire extinguisher.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



