Forgetting Sarah Marshall 2? Lame.

July 28, 2008 at 1:39 pm 5 comments

Please, enlighten me — how did the lackluster, both in quality and in box office draw, “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” warrant a sequel? I would love to know if, while watching Jason Segel drop trou for, like, the 20th time, anyone thought, “You know, this really has franchise potential.”

I’ll be honest, I didn’t have that thought process. I didn’t even finish the first movie. After a scene in which Segel looks all sad and shit around a table with his buddies at a bar, I got bored. I thought, “This isn’t new. I’ve seen this a million times before. There’s no point in wasting my time by finishing this movie out.”

I really have liked all things Judd Apatow, and for a while there, it seemed as if the dude could do no wrong, but “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” was a huge disappointment for me. So, when I read on Moviehole that the production company has already contacted the entire cast about a potential sequel, I was a little disappointed.

Everyone from Segel to funnyman Russell Brand has been asked back.

No word on whether Judd Apatow’s producing. No word on whether Kristen Bell’s bikini has been put on stand-by.

I would definitely respect Apatow if he chose to have nothing to do with this project, because I don’t see how you could possibly make this even remotely good. The first one — although I didn’t make it to the ending, I’m sure it strictly adhered to the rom-com formula — ended in a logical place, with not much room for expansion, the film just didn’t make that must bank and the film just wasn’t that good.

Where the hell is the appeal to make another?

Entry filed under: Judd Apatow, sequel. Tags: , , .

Abrams slips up about Cloverfield 2 Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Trailer

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dude...  |  July 28, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    i love that you put “lame” in your title!

    Reply
  • 2. Max  |  July 28, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Andy.. I actually thought this was the funniest comedy I had seen since Superbad. Mila Kunis’ character was a pliable bitch, but other than that.. Judd Apatow coincidence?

    And you’ve heard about the Jason Segel Muppets movie, right? As long as Bert doesn’t get nude when Ernie dumps him, I’ll be fine with it.

    Reply
  • 3. blog more!  |  July 29, 2008 at 8:07 am

    You haven’t written a new post in, like, 19 hours… step it up bud

    Reply
  • 4. lol  |  September 16, 2008 at 5:29 am

    wow. you obviously have no sence of humour or appreciation of great funny movies.
    im sure you liked the Titanic then? 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. John  |  September 29, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Way to go, write a half assed review about a movie you didnt even watch past the first 15 minutes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



