The viral marketing for Gentlemen Broncos is hilarious

August 12, 2008 at 7:59 am 2 comments

Jared Hess, the creator of the awkwardly hilarious “Napoleon Dynamite” and “Nacho Libre,” has been hard at work putting together his new flick, “Gentlemen Broncos.” Let me just say that as soon as a heard that the project was about a “fantasy author who discovers that legendary novelist Ronald Chevalier has ripped off his supposed masterpiece titled ‘Yest Lords,’ ” I knew it would kick serious butt. Think about it — Hess thrives on creating the most awkward situations and interactions between characters as possible. Nothing screams awkward like a dual between fantasy fiction writers. If Hess can turn in another killer script (I really liked “Nacho Libre,” although a lot of people saw it as a letdown), There’s no doubt in my mind that “Gentlemen Broncos” is going to be freakin’ hilarious.

Everything I’m hearing about the movie is good news so far. First off, Jermaine Clement (pictured in his get-up from “Gentlemen Broncos” above), who you may know from “Flight of the Conchords,” is staring as Ronald Chevalier, the professional fantasy fiction writer mentioned above. If you haven’t seen, “Conchords” or Clement’s silver-screen debut “Eagle vs. Shark,” you won’t understand why I’m so happy to see him cast in a Hess movie. Clement’s talents and strengths as a comedic actor make him a picture-perfect candidate to star in one of Hess’s films. He’s got this uncanny ability to portray a semi-dislikable character in such a way that you want him on the screen as much as possible. He’ll no doubt steal the show in “Broncos” as a douchebaggy fantasy writer.

But Clement isn’t the only promising evidence coming from the “Broncos” camp.

Recently, Hess and Co. unveiled their on-the-viral-marketing-bandwagon campaign, consisting of ronaldchevalier.com, which highlights Clement’s character’s many triumphs as a writer, and it’s freaking hilarious. There’s not a whole lot up yet, but the one video they have up is terrific:

I love it, but I know a lot of people won’t. “Napoleon Dynamite” had its fifteen minutes of fame, but Hess and his downright oddball characters and awkward situations are off-putting some. In my opinion, what he does is incredibly creative — no else has come even close to tapping the awkward energy that his movies thrive on, and its refreshing to see a different, more intelligent sense of humor, especially with Hollywood pumping out gutbusters like “Epic Movie” right now.

I giggled like an idiot when I saw “Napoleon,” along with everyone else. I giggled like a moron when I saw “Nacho Libre,” although it seemed like no one else got the joke, and I’d be willing to bet dollars to donuts I’ll be rofling all over the place when “Broncos” finally drops sometime in 2009. I just hope I’m not the only one laughing again — I want to see Hess develop was a writer and director.

Entry filed under: Jared Hess. Tags: , , , , .

Since when does Jake Gyllenhaal look like a huge douchebag? Superbad Express a reality?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. OM NOM NOM  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Napoleon Dynamite was terrible the first time around. That was the only movie when I’ve ever walked out of the theater in the middle of it. It eventually grew on me (after having to sit through it 3 or 4 more times with friends), but I wouldn’t call it a great movie by any stretch of the imagination.

    I don’t think it’s that nobody gets the joke – I think he just makes bad movies.

    Reply
  • 2. Bobby G  |  September 18, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    I am looking forward to Gentlemen Broncos especially because I enjoyed Napolian so much. I find the zoom-in focus on the individual characters’ funky nuances and personal styles is utterly and irresistably funny. The genius is in inbuing each one with a little dab of genius or some spastic talent that he or she surprisingly posseses above the rest, such as Napolian’s talent for dancing. That was so damn funny and unexpected! And, this clip (I just watched here) of “Ronald Chevalier” from Gentelman Broncos is right in that same groove. He is as sublimely, creepily into himself as one can get and it is expressed in every little audible breath. People are funny! These characters are so true to life it’s just a gas laughing at them. I’m dying to see this next film! I actually have a follow-up on my calender to check status for release. Ha ha ha! What can I say? I love a good laugh.

    AND, I also love Michael Angarano! Did you see him in Forbidden Kingdom? Who would have thought he would track from Will & Grace to Sky High to Black Irish to Forbidden Kingdom?! This guy has range! What a career he’s having. LeBeouf, eat your heart out! When is this film gonna release?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



