The Dark Knight dvd update: BatPod gift set

August 14, 2008 at 4:48 pm 2 comments

By now, every Batman enthusiast has heard that the suits at Warner Brothers Studios are pushing for a holiday-season release of the highly anticipated “The Dark Knight” dvd. The quickly approaching release date is the main reason why internet wizards and box office pundits are saying the film won’t topple “Star Wars” as the highest box office draw ever (over $600 million).

Honestly, I could care less whether or not it beats “Star Wars.” Being a huge fan of the movie, I love to see it smash all these records and whatnot, but this is a sign of the times — we want the DVD as quickly as possible (including me. I want to be able to see it everyday, if I feel like it), and there’s not reason that the flick should stay in theaters for 44 months, like “Star Wars” did

Well, let the speclation begin. Over at slashfilm, they have pictures of, what looks like, mockups for the various forms in which the DVD will be release, including some pretty sweet gift set ideas which involved the crowd-favorite BatPod and a BatMask. Of course, we have to be skeptical, with every teenager with a bad case of acne and nothing to do on a Saturday night stirring up crazy internet rumors with a few hours spent on Photoshop, but if these are real, they’re pretty freakin’ cool. Check ’em out below.

First things first, here’s the coolest one. The one that garnered the post’s title, the BatPod gift set:

And now the inside specs, which reveal that the two discs are, very creatively, hidden in the stand of the BatPod figurine:

Yes, this display is incredibly geeky, but I like the idea behind it. When I went to the midnight showing, one of the loudest cheers mid-movie came when Batman rocketed out of the broken tumbler, first introducing the audience to the odd-looking BatPod. No one expected it, and everyone loved it, so it makes sense that Warner Bros. would try to capitalize on the popularity of this suped-up motorcycle.

Next up is a much lamer gift set, with a small BatMask included:

It looks as though the mask is about the size of a DVD case, and, with no stand or anything like that visible, it leaves the question of how to display this open. I can only see the most diehard Batman fans going for this useless piece of memorabilia, where I can see many casual fans and those who just like “The Dark Knight” being much more apt to pick up the BatPod set.

And finally, we have the regular releases, including a two-disc set, a two-disc set in a “limited Steelbook case,” and a blu-ray release:

I’ll most likely pick up the regular two-disc set. I don’t have blu-ray yet, leaving that option out, and I don’t have much need for a geeked-out gift set. Although — and I hope I don’t sound like a total nerd — that BatPod set is pretty badass. I really like the design on it, and if it’s a real option, I’ll have some serious thinking to do: should I just go regular dvd, or totally nerd myself out and get the collector’s edition toy? Hmmm, decisions, decision.

Here’s my only beef with these mockups — The Joker is, far and away, the highlight of the movie, both in Heath Ledger’s execution and the viewers’ eyes. I would love to see a gift set that highlights him, in some way. It would be much harder to do, seeing as how he doesn’t really have any cool gadgets like the BatPod, but I’m sure the Warner Bros bigwigs could figure something out. And there’s no doubt in my mind that a Joker gift set would get eaten up by the hardcore “The Dark Knight” enthusiasts and the general public alike. I would be really surprised if there’s nothing like that offered by the time the DVD is released.

Entry filed under: Batman, Box Office, comic book movies, sequel, The Dark Knight. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Watchmen update: Rorschach unmasked! There will be no bitch-ass sidekick in Evil Dead 4

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Dark Knight dvd update: BatPod gift set  |  August 14, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    […] Dave wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt By now, every Batman enthusiast has heard that the suits at Warner Brothers Studios are pushing for a holiday-season release of the highly anticipated “The Dark Knight” dvd. The quickly approaching release date is the main reason why internet wizards and box office pundits are saying the film won’t topple “Star Wars” as the highest box office draw ever (over $600 million). Honestly, I could care less whether or not it beats “Star Wars.” Being a huge fan of the movie, I love to see it smash all these records and whatnot, but this is a sign of the times — we want the DVD as quickly as possible (including me. I want to be able to see it everyday, if I feel like it), and there’s not reason that the flick should stay in theaters for 44 months, like “Star Wars” did Well, let the speclation begin. Over at slashfilm, they […] […]

    Reply
  • 2. your secret admirer  |  August 16, 2008 at 12:40 am

    haha… possible birthday present?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



