Watchmen update: Rorschach unmasked!

August 14, 2008 at 5:20 am 2 comments

Let me take you through a brief timeline of my history with Zack Snyder’s adaptation of “Watchmen,” one of the most critically acclaimed comic books of all time:

  • I hear all sorts of excitement once news breaks that a “Watchmen” trailer is attached to “The Dark Knight.” I have no idea what all the hype is about, because I’ve never heard of it in my life. I don’t like comic books, thus “Watchmen” has never been on To Read list.
  • I see “The Dark Knight.” The “WTF, Mate?” factor is high, but even though I have no idea what’s going on in the “Watchmen” trailer, the visuals mixed with that haunting Smashing Pumpkins song make me look up the book as soon as I get over how awesome “The Dark Knight” was.
  • Upon further inspection, I figure “Watchmen” might be worthy of reading, if for no other reason than I’ll be able to keep up with the huge amounts of internet buzz around the movie now that the trailer’s out. And since I’ve decided to spend my free time pretending to be an Internet Wizard in the world of cinema, I figure that might be a good idea.
  • I go to Barnes and Noble. The book is sold out.
  • I go to Border’s. Sold out.
  • I go to another Border’s. They have some ordered, so the dude behind the counter puts my name on the waiting list. I guess I’m not the only one that was intrigued after the trailer.
  • I finally get my copy, and even though I’m skeptical because I just don’t really like comic books, “Watchmen” is unbelievable.
  • All of a sudden, I’m super excited for the movie.

I feel like a lot of people had this same series of events happened to them — they hadn’t heard of “Watchmen” until “The Dark Knight,” but after reading the book, they get what all the hype is about. They get why people are calling this “The ‘Citizen Kane’ of comic book movies.

And now, that I’m fully excited for “Watchmen,” I’m fully excited to see that Snyder’s Rorschach is true to the original source material. I think it’s important to the story that, once Rorschach is unmasked, that the viewer has this revelation that he’s not a super hero — he’s just some normal, albeit ugly, dude who smells funky.

For comparison, I’ll show you comic book Rorschach/Walter Kovacs first:

And, here’s the movie version of the character:

This should just reassure any “Watchmen” fan that Zack Snyder is really sticking to his promise that the flick will follow the source material as closely as possible. From the frame-by-frame comparisons of book to flick that hit the web after the trailer dropped, to this picture of Jackie Earle Haley (who happens to be bald in real life) in makeup as Walter Kovacs, everything that has leaked from “Watchmen” so far has screamed authenticity and a massive amount of respect for the comic book.

Good stuff.

Entry filed under: Watchmen. Tags: , , , , .

Robert Downey Jr: “Fuck D.C. Comics” The Dark Knight dvd update: BatPod gift set

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



