Sex Drive red band trailer is freaking hilarious

August 16, 2008 at 10:01 am Leave a comment

It’s not everyday that a movie trailer actually makes my laugh out loud. And I definitely didn’t think today would be one of those days when I read that the red-band to a movie called “Sex Drive” had hit the interwebs. I hadn’t heard of the movie up until that point, and everything about the title screams bad teenage sex romp. But I was more than pleasantly surprised by the sneak peak. Enough of my talking it up. Just watch below:

Clark Duke, who plays that goofy sidekick in “Sex Drive,” totally steals the spotlight for the entire 30 seconds or so of screen time he gets. Duke is quickly becoming one of my favorite young comedic actors in Hollywood. I first saw him in “Clark and Michael,” and by the end of the 10-webisode season, I like him and his fiction Clark character than Michael Cera and his awkward antics.

His delivery is so spot-on, and I would be lying if I said one of the main reasons I am now pumped to see “Sex Drive” is so that I can see if Duke is up for carrying his first major movie role (he was in “Superbad” for all of five seconds, and he hasn’t been in any other flicks to my knowledge).

The Amish scene is hilarious — I love Amish humor, because let’s face it: they’re never going to know (Get it? The joke being that there’s a snowball’s chance in hell that an Amish person ever sees “Sex Drive,” what with the no technology rule n’ shit).

The jock older brother is hilarious. I thought one of the best lines in the whole trailer was “You ever watch Dateline? It’s probably a guy!” And then of course, there’s the donut mascot. I, for one, find mascots (especially ridiculous ones, like huge donuts with real-working mouths) to be hilarious. This is one of the best comedy trailers I’ve seen in a while, and I really hope the movie lives up to it. There’s definitely a lot of potential for hilarity here.

“Sex Drive” comes to a theater near you Oct. 10, 2008.

Entry filed under: Comedy, Trailer. Tags: , , .

Anchorman in Space? The Dark Knight finally falls from box office top spot

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



